Granada

Two words to describe Granada: FREEZING COLD.

Okay, it’s really not that bad. It was the equivalent of a mid-western spring day and I am from Wisconsin so I can take the cold, but I’ve gotten used to 65 degree winter days in Sevilla over the past month. That being said, pack gloves. Pack a warm jacket. Pack long underwear (not kidding).

I didn’t think Granada would be all that different than Sevilla, but it was surely unique. Mountains surround the city, the culprits of the cold, unlike the flatness of Sevilla. You’ll get a really great calf workout walking down the streets of Granada. There’s also a higher Arabic population and influence in the city, so it has a different feel to it.

If you’re in southern Spain, you have to stop and see Granada for these 5 reasons:

  1. The Alhambra: Granada is home to the Alhambra, the last standing medieval Arabic palace in the world. It sits on top of a mountain overlooking the city, and it is magnificent. I would highly recommend paying the extra money for a guided tour, but if you’re not a nerd like me the regular ticket gets you into most places in the palace. I’ll post a more in depth post on the Alhambra, just in case you’re not sold by these pictures.
  2. Hiking!! Even if you’re not an outdoorsy person (trust me, I’m not) the mountains are amazing to hike through. The route I took went through the Spanish countryside where I was able to see some of the little mountainous “villages.” I also accidentally got lost for two hours, but more on that in a separate post.granada-1
  3. FREE FOOD!! Okay sort of. If you order drinks at a restaurant, the majority of the time they will bring you free tapas to go with your drink. It’s technically not free, but it feels free and is dirt cheap. My friend and I ate at a restaurant named Patio Del Toro and got a liter of Sangria with four tapas for eight euros in total. I would have paid that much for just the Sangria, but the free food was a welcomed addition.
  4. Dem views. Walk to the top of any hill and you will find spectacular views. Sure, you might have to wait a few minutes for the heavy breathing to subside before taking pics, but it’s worth it. I’d highly recommend the Mirador de San Cristobal and Mirador San Nicolas for the best pictures of the city and the Alhambra.
  5. Dried fruit. Yeah you can probably get dried fruit anywhere in the world. But I swear, the dried fruit here is especially good. There’s a bunch of spice shops around the Catedral that have dried fruit. I don’t even want to admit how much money I spent on it…
Leave a Reply

